Current Visitors

We have 222 guests and no members online


Next Inductees:

The Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame  board is proud to announce the "Class of 2020". Ballots were counted just prior to the July 29, 2020 meeting.

The Class of 2020 is as follows: 

 The following individuals were selected by an anonymous vote of the past inductees, past board members, and current board members of the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame: Scott Diehl, Rusty Daggett, John Bugenski, Danny Kellermeyer, Arlen Fadely, Dana Wiltse, Dick Crup, Chet Miller, Eldon Schrader, Ron Allen, and Brett Mann.

   Scott Diehl of Fenton is being recognized for his accomplishments as a mechanic and car chief not only in the short track world but on the high banks of NASCAR and the Sprint Cup division for drivers such as Tim Fedewa, Jeff Burton, and Tony Stewart.

  Rusty Daggett of Clio is being recognized for his lifelong involvement and interest in Auto Racing and just recently retired from the Auto City Speedway after 50 years of service to the track as flagman.

  John Bugenski of Clawson was partner and crew chief to 2002 MMSHoF Inductee Bob Seibert who as a team was a multi time NHRA National Event winner in a variety of vehicles ranging from Gassers to Pro Stock to Modified.

   Arlen Fadely partnered with John Bugenski on a Competition Eliminator Dragster for a time and is a former NHRA Division III Modified Champion and holder of 22 NHRA and IHRA Drag Racing national records. After racing, Fadely managed Oldsmobile’s IRL, IMSA, SCCA, NASCAR, and NHRA Promotions.

   Danny Kellermeyer of Hanover started out in go-karts at the age of seven before going Drag Racing in the late 60’s. Later moving to stock cars but more notably for racing Corvettes or being involved in Corvette racing. From 1989 until the present day, Danny has been building and racing competitive Corvettes for SCCA that have competed in the SCCA Regionals, Nationals, and the Rolex 24. Danny can be found at the Waterford Hills Road Racing track in Clarkston driving and winning in his own cars while helping to train new drivers and volunteering at the WHRRI.

  Dana Wiltse could always be found on the back of a snowmobile rocketing around the tracks starting at the age of 12. He is an accomplished snowmobile racer from the SOO I-500 and is active in the snowmobile community having served on the MISA, MIRA, and the Snowmobile Advisory Committee.

  Dick Crup bought his first race car at the age of 18 in 1957 and his first race was at the Butler Motor Speedway. Dick raced all over the region with success at tracks like Butler, Manchester, Angola, Spartan, and Jackson to name a few. He has raced against and beat many of the best of the day and has driven and won in open wheel modifieds, and late models on dirt and pavement.

  Chet Miller was born in Detroit in 1902 and ran his first race in 1924. He went to Indianapolis in 1928 with a Miller 91. Chet made 19 attempts at the glory of the big race with his best finish in 1938 with a third place finish.  Sadly, He lost his life at Indianapolis in 1953 when a crash in practice claimed his life.

  Eldon Schrader was a standout in the modifieds at Berlin back in the mid 60’s.  Eldon raced at nearly 30 speedways all over the tri-state area as well as the famed classic at Oswego New York over his career and was always known as a fast runner. He completed his career in 1984.

   Ron Allen of Lincoln Park is a multi time sportsman champion at the lightning fast Toledo Speedway with 8 championships in the division as well as a pair of Flat Rock Street Stock championships and a Late Model Championship at Toledo in 2020. Ron has also competed in numerous Late Model races as well as 75 Iceman Super Car series races.

  Brett Mann has had a highly successful career in Michigan Sprint Car Racing with six championships and over 80 feature wins and sits fifth for all time feature wins in the S.O.D. Sprint Car Series.

   Unfortunately in 2020 with the restrictions on gatherings and with deep regret, there will be no formal Induction Ceremony in 2020 to celebrate these fine examples of Motor Sport success. The Board of Directors has voted to honor these individuals in November 2021 when we also honor the “Class of 2021” who will be selected in May/June of 2021


Next Meeting:

The next MMSHoF board meeting will be on November 4, 2020 at the Mid Michigan Title, Holt, Mi. The meeting starts at 6:45 PM and the public is welcome to attend and observe.

33rd Annual Induction Dinner November 6, 2016

2016 group Jennifer Peterson 72(front) George Keen; Roy Johnson; Larry Knowlton; Rick Beebe; John Vineyard (back) Larry Aldrich; Kristi Carman (daughter of Jerry); Bud Bennett; Jack Gritter; David Hilliker; Tammy Loynes (widow of Larry); Terry Fitzwater (for Bob Jenkins); Jennifer Peters, daughter of of Larry Loynes; Jerry Leonard[/caption] The 2016 inductees included oval racer Larry Aldrich, flagman Rick Beebe, snowmobile racer Bud Bennett, oval racers Jerry Carman and  David Hilliker, speed shop owner Roy Johnson, oval racer Larry Knowlton, go-kart racer Jerry Leonard, and drag racers Arlen Vanke and John Vineyard.
Wanted: Photographs to copy for inductee biography inserts, and to add to photo pages. Photos can be donated or they can be sent to the address below and they will be scanned and returned on request.